Skip to content
December 22, 2008 / Bo Mackison

Credo at Christmas

Capitol in Lights

Capitol in Lights

“At Christmas time I believe the things that children do:

I believe with English children that holly placed in windows will protect our homes from evil.
I believe with Swiss children that the touch of edelweiss will charm a person with love.
I believe with Italian children that La Befana is not an ugly doll but a good fairy who will gladden the heart of all.
I believe with Greek children that coins concealed in freshly baked loaves of bread will bring good luck to anyone who finds them.
I believe with German children that the sight of a Christmas tree will lessen hostility among adults.
I believe with French children that lentils soaked and planted in a bowl will rekindle life in people who have lost hope.
I believe with Dutch children that the horse Sleipner will fly through the sky and fill the earth with joy.
I believe with Swedish children that Jultomte will come and deliver gifts to the poor as well as to the rich.
I believe with Finnish children that parties held on St. Stephen’s Day will erase sorrow.
I believe with Danish children that the music of a band playing from a church tower will strengthen humankind.
I believe with Bulgarian children that sparks from a Christmas log will create warmth in human souls.
I believe with American children that the sending of Christmas cards will build friendships.
I believe with all children that there will be peace on earth.” ~Daniel Roselle

10 Comments

  1. Brad Shorr / Dec 22 2008 6:29 am

    Beautiful sentiments. Merry Christmas!

  2. Marcie / Dec 22 2008 7:04 am

    Amazing how every culture has their own magical christmas belief. Beautiful!!!

  3. Gandalf / Dec 22 2008 7:39 am

    Great image and a wonderful quote.

  4. Pat Denino / Dec 22 2008 7:52 am

    Thank you for sharing this!

  5. Debi / Dec 22 2008 9:22 am

    Lovely, Bo, both shot and sentiments.

  6. bookbabie / Dec 22 2008 2:51 pm

    Neat poem, thanks for sharing it, happy holidays Bo!

  7. Preston Surface / Dec 22 2008 7:12 pm

    Great night time shot.

  8. suehenryphotography / Dec 22 2008 7:58 pm

    Here’s to the “believe with all children that there will be peace on earth.” Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  9. Laurie / Dec 22 2008 10:13 pm

    Such beautiful sentiments.

  10. Robin / Dec 24 2008 1:48 pm

    Beautiful. 🙂

Comments are closed.

