Skip to content
November 8, 2008 / Bo Mackison

Spirit of the Tree

The Last Hurrah

Last Hurrah

When you can see each leaf as a separate thing, you can see the tree, you can feel the spirit of the tree, you can talk to it, and maybe you can begin to learn something.

William J Bausch

I guess if I’m going to learn anything, I’d better be quick about it. I think perhaps these are the only two leaves left in my neck of the woods. Wonder if I can study the snowflakes that are falling today instead. Not much accumulation though.

Does anyone remember catching snowflakes on black construction paper and looking at them with a magnifying glass. I think my Grandpa took me out snowflake spying when I was about six years old.

Do kids do still do that kind of thing?

6 Comments

  1. rlovison / Nov 8 2008 8:18 am

    The snowflake and construction paper exercise sounds like fun. I’ll try it the next time it snows.

    As for whether or not kids do that sort of thing today, I kind of doubt it. High tech is dominating children’s entertainment these days. If an activity doesn’t center around the use of a cell phone or computer I doubt it has much of a chance of capturing any attention.

  2. gypsy-heart / Nov 8 2008 12:36 pm

    I love the leaf image!
    I am afraid I have never had your snowflake story as I am a Florida native! :O I’ve only seen real snow once.

    Thanks for sharing your world, Bo!

  3. Laurie / Nov 8 2008 2:59 pm

    Lovely detail in the leaves.

    We had snow here in NJ (not by me but very, very close) a couple of weeks ago. I don’t remember doing that with snow flakes when I was a kid but it would have been fun to do. Wish I’d thought of doing that with my kids.

  4. suehenryphotography / Nov 9 2008 8:02 am

    I stumbled on your blog this morning. Thanks for allowing me to visit. I am looking forward to viewing your images. Sue

  5. Marcie / Nov 9 2008 5:58 pm

    I think I did that snowflake thing when I was a kid..but then again – I grew up in serious snow country..where we were always looking for something fun and creative!!! Love the browns in this image. Autumn is fading..

  6. Gandalf / Nov 10 2008 10:14 am

    I recall trying to catch snowflakes on my tongue, but not the black construction paper thing. I think i’ll try it some time this winter. I should have lots of chances. 🙂

Comments are closed.

