Skip to content
October 12, 2008 / Bo Mackison

Died and Gone to Phoenix

Pool in Phoenix

Pool in Phoenix

Our vacation swing through the Southwest has finally brought us to the point furthest from our home state – Arizona.

Ah, Arizona! The weather has moderated from the summer highs in the 110s and a front moving in from Baja California brought mild temperatures. It was actually warmer in Madison Wisconsin yesterday than it was in Phoenix. But that didn’t stop us from enjoying and exploring this wonderful place. We visited a few highlights – Frank Lloyd Wright’s Taliesin West at sunset and the Phoenix Botanical Gardens. Both fantastic stops and worth complete posts of their own a bit later.

Best of all, though, we stayed with a couple – a dynamic woman who has been my creativity coach for the past year and her remarkable husband, a personal chef (more on the food later – oh, yum). They introduced us to the pleasures of desert living and a bit of heaven here on earth – something called a backyard pool. (Even though they thought it too cool to swim, we still have our Midwestern skins and dove in the water without a second thought. It was purely refreshing.)

Quinn of QuinnCreative is a certified creativity/life coach who certainly puts her life work in action – she is creative and full of life – and her husband is the owner of KentCooks and a personal chef. We only wish we lived down the street from these people so we could visit more easily and so that we could employ the talents of Kent in the kitchen. We could not have experienced a more perfect break from our camping routine than a stop-over with these two great people.

Thanks, Quinn and Kent.

8 Comments

  1. quinncreative / Oct 12 2008 7:32 pm

    Awww, thanks, Bo. Thanks for making us feel like the experts when we haven’t been here all that long. You were just the ideal houseguests–we had a lot of fun. But nothing beats that adorable trailer. You might want to check it to make sure Kent didn’t sneak in there before you left.

  2. amelia / Oct 12 2008 11:34 pm

    Very neat pool reflection.

  3. Laurie / Oct 13 2008 6:52 am

    Interesting thought provoking post.

    I’ve never really thought about a what a life coach was before. I guess I always considered my parents as my life coaches when I was growing up. I was lucky to have them, and I don’t think there was anyone better suited to do the job. I hope I am and can be that for my kids.

    I suppose to an extent my teachers were also life coaches but to a lesser degree. I think my parents were always #1 in that department.

    Arizona is quite beautiful and very diverse. That pool certainly does look inviting.

  4. Debi / Oct 13 2008 9:44 am

    There’s absolutely nothing like a backyard pool in Arizona. Have I told you how envious I am?

  5. Robin / Oct 13 2008 1:13 pm

    I’m jealous. It sounds like you’re having a wonderful time. I visit Quinn’s blog frequently and always thought she’d be a really great person to meet. 🙂

  6. Gandalf / Oct 14 2008 9:50 pm

    Was the water wet? You know it’s hot in Phoenix, but it’s a dry heat.

  7. organicsyes / Oct 15 2008 9:55 am

    Fabulous!!! What fun:)

  8. lady.percy / Oct 20 2008 5:00 pm

    Wow! That pool is huge! Cool pic :-]

Comments are closed.

