Skip to content
May 1, 2008 / Bo Mackison

The Convent Sitting Room

The Convent Sitting Room

I went to a high school run by a religious order of nuns. Half the brick building was the school; the other half was the convent. The building was destroyed by fire a decade after I graduated and the only parts of the structure that were not harmed were the chapel and the nuns’ sitting room. (I have no clue how that happened – the two areas were in separate parts of the building!)

These two spaces were incorporated into the new building constructed for a seniors’ apartment complex. When in my hometown last week and visiting in one of the apartments, I walked past the old sitting room, camera in hand, and happened upon the shadows playing wildly on the parquet flooring. It just seemed like I should capture the photo for memories’ sake.

I once stood in this room as a 16 year old, accompanied by a concerned parent, and listened to a very long, very stern lecture. But I have no recollection what topic we were all discussing. . . that’s probably good.

14 Comments

  1. Nicole / May 1 2008 6:34 am

    Beautiful shot – but lectures…sounds intimidating πŸ™‚

  2. burstmode / May 1 2008 6:49 am

    This recollection brings back some memories for me but I doubt the room looked this nice that day when you were 16.

  3. cindydyer / May 1 2008 7:38 am

    Hi Bo,

    Love the sitting room sepia shot!

  4. Anna Surface / May 1 2008 8:21 am

    Very nice capture in composition and light & dark. πŸ™‚

  5. Gandalf / May 1 2008 9:03 am

    I love the shadow play against the parquet floor.

  6. Bo / May 1 2008 2:34 pm

    Nicole ~ it seems it was rather…

    anna, gandalf ~ thanks, i love to play with shadows

  7. jpt / May 1 2008 3:25 pm

    bravo

  8. Robin / May 1 2008 4:02 pm

    Beautiful shot, Bo. I like the earthy colors and the play of light and shadows.

  9. Lisa's Chaos / May 1 2008 4:21 pm

    How odd that the two rooms in different areas would make it through the fire. But how great that they just built around them. πŸ™‚

  10. amuirin / May 1 2008 6:00 pm

    I like the story that accompanies the image, and what an astounding photograph. Again, you seem to crossover a bit into the surreal.

  11. jeanabaena / May 1 2008 8:20 pm

    very nice. i like the flowers’ shadows on the floor.

  12. Bo / May 2 2008 3:11 pm

    jpt ~ glad you like…

    Robin ~ sometimes you just gotta play with sepia…

    Lisa ~ it IS nice they saved the rooms. the chapel is simple but very grand. I’ll post some on it later.

    amuirin ~ hey, I feel a little surreal! Is it contagious, d’ya think?

    jeanne ~ thanks.

  13. HeyJules / May 2 2008 8:11 pm

    Beautiful lighting and shadows in this one, Bo! Love it.

  14. lady.percy / May 4 2008 6:43 pm

    I love this picture! It looks like something you’d see in a magazine or something. Great work!

Comments are closed.

