Skip to content
February 6, 2008 / Bo Mackison

Winter Feeder

Snowy weather comes and the winter birds flock to the feeders.

This is my first attempt with a new telephoto lens, 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Zuiko ED Zoom Lens, and I can see there is going to be a learning curve. But this is the first ‘birdie’ photo I’ve ever taken so I had to give it a show.

This marks the fourth month of my daily photo posts; I began posting October 5, 2007. I do see some progress in my photography, though I still have only 6 months of experience behind me. Sometimes I question if I should post daily, sometimes it is difficult to choose the next day’s post. But I decided to continue with the practice for the discipline needed for getting a daily photo, mostly because it gives me great motivation to get out and take photos.

The other reason is, though I love all my great visitors and especially their comments, I am really posting for my own enjoyment. I find a certain pleasure in having a daily photo blog. So onward I will go, onward to October 5, 2008.

Madison, WI
Afternoon snowstorm on February 5, 2008

17 Comments

  1. fotokew / Feb 6 2008 9:52 am

    i’m jealous of your new lens! 🙂 love the pic!

  2. Laurie / Feb 6 2008 10:27 am

    This is very cute. I love that you captured the snow flakes.

  3. Gandalf / Feb 6 2008 10:50 am

    Nice detail. I can see individual seeds in the feeder. The bird does look a bit cold, though. 🙂 Maybe it likes to ski.

  4. montucky / Feb 6 2008 12:55 pm

    I’m glad you will continue. I enjoy your posts and your photos!

  5. HeyJules / Feb 6 2008 2:11 pm

    Those new lenses really give us a workout, don’t they? Still, I think it is a fabulous first bird photo and I love the flying snow against his dark feathers.

    (Did I just say I loved the snow? I take that back!)

  6. Anna Surface / Feb 6 2008 2:49 pm

    Barbara, that is a great shot. I love using my telephoto lens (Canon 70-300mm) but I tend to use the wide angle a lot since I tend to take many landscape shots.

    Anyhow, your blog was the first photoblog I had viewed when coming aboard WordPress. And I was very impressed and enjoyed viewing your previous photos. Keep the photos coming! 🙂

    I am like you, progressing in photography. I have much to learn in the art of photography but I am sure enjoying each step as I snap the shutter. 🙂

    No more snow!

  7. ankush / Feb 6 2008 6:34 pm

    beautiful shot!

  8. Robin / Feb 6 2008 6:51 pm

    I think it’s a beautiful shot. 🙂

  9. mon@rch / Feb 6 2008 7:40 pm

    Wow, that feeder makes the Junco look so tiny!

  10. barbara / Feb 6 2008 8:24 pm

    Mon@rch ~ Thanks for the ID. I can do wildflowers but I’m terrible with birds, though now that i can get close-ups I plan on doing a better job.

    And as for the BIG feeder – it is the only one we have found that doesn’t get ’emptied’ by the squirrels on a daily basis. (Said squirrels are now getting even by taking up residence in the eaves of my garage and gnawing the rafters. Grrr! “Critter Control” is on their way. Hopefully they’ll like their new home in the woods far from my house!)

  11. gypsy-heart / Feb 6 2008 8:58 pm

    Well, I for one hope you continue!
    I think this little bird is magical. This new lense will open up a whole new world for you..and for us since you allow us to have a glimpse of it. 🙂

  12. organicsyes / Feb 7 2008 10:58 am

    Love it! The snow and the birdseed…lots of dots…and the bird feet around the cold metal rim…amazing!

    The joy of posting is such a freeing feeling. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It is cathartic to get all that is within us out to the world…whether there it is seen or not…it is out there.

    Bravo on a post a day!
    Susan
    http://www.organicsyes.wordpress.com

  13. Photo Buffet / Feb 7 2008 11:16 am

    Barbara, this is unique. You should submit it to Birds ‘n Blooms! I love the speckly snow look. Nice work!

  14. ladypercy / Feb 7 2008 8:38 pm

    Wow! Great shot! I love the contrast in size and color.

  15. jeanabaena / Feb 10 2008 7:32 pm

    taking pictures in the snow is so difficult, this is a great shot. the larger picture in flickr is especially nice. all the details are incredible. 🙂

  16. jeanabaena / Feb 10 2008 7:32 pm

    and congrats on the 4 month mark!

  17. jessica / Feb 12 2008 1:29 pm

    I love my telephoto lens too….it is great for the bird shots.
    Not sure where your feeder is, but a little trick I like to use is to park my car close to the feeder and use it as a blind. Then the birds come to the feeder, have no idea I am there and I can shoot away.

    fun shots!

Comments are closed.

