Skip to content
January 6, 2009 / Bo Mackison

Purple Orchids

Phalaenopsis

Phalaenopsis

I decided to do some indoor photography today – I’m a little tired of the icy glaze covering the snow which makes walking outside hazardous to my health – so I went to one of my favorite places in Madison, the Bolz Conservatory which is part of Olbrich Botanical Gardens. The Conservatory was really warm. I quickly shed my sweater, and literally was wiping perspiration from my forehead midway through the shoot. But the orchids all seemed to be thriving in the heat and humidity.

6 Comments

  1. Marcie / Jan 6 2009 5:07 am

    Beautiful rendering of a beautiful flower. Was beginning to think much the same..that it’s time to turn my camera indoors. This icey stuff is getting old!!!

  2. suehenryphotography / Jan 6 2009 10:03 am

    This is lovely! Stunning. I so wish we had a botanical garden or conservatory around here. I may have to make a day trip to Nashville……

  3. montucky / Jan 6 2009 10:47 am

    Beautiful, Bo! Nice to see that image in the middle of winter.

  4. Gandalf / Jan 6 2009 11:58 am

    Orchids are among my favorites. Nice shot, but i don’t understand the snow issue. 🙂

  5. jeju / Jan 6 2009 4:59 pm

    i like the shadow in the background. nice color

  6. Robin / Jan 6 2009 5:41 pm

    Beautiful, Bo. It’s nice to be reminded of warmer places. 🙂

Comments are closed.